A SUMMER OF TWO-WHEEL ADVENTURES: FROM SCOTLAND TO 3RD IN CANADA

by

SOURCE: AMBER ZIRNHELT

196-3.jpg

This summer was full of many two-wheel adventures. From racing the Canada Cup circuit and a select few races in the USA to traveling to rip the World Championship Course at Fort William, Scotland and the singletrack in Innerleithen and Glentress, Scotland – this summer was one to remember.

Among the highlights of my summer was racing down in Utah with the USA Brodie B-Team and Loeka. The Deer Valley, NORBA offered a course full of challenging features including a super steep gnarly rock-drop off of an old waterfall, tight rocky tree sections, and super-fast high speed gully riding. While the course was absolutely epic, a great added bonus was the camaraderie of road tripping with great friends and teamates and topping off the race weekend with an epic two hour descent from one of the peaks in Deer Valley.

196-4.jpg

After a busy early season racing in California, Quebeca, Utah, and BC, I was in need for a week away to ride and spend time with old mates in Scotland. I had the perfect excuse to hop on a plane as my cousin was getting married in Edinburgh and my family decided that I should be the one to go and represent our clan. Nothing beats the riding at Fort William – the World Championship course in incredibly challenging and technical, as well as high speed. It’s definitely a course on my list of top places to race.

196-2.jpg

To top things off for my season, I’ve finished ranked 3rd in Canada in the National Point Ranking and I’ve recently joined the national Esteem Team as a motivational speaker for youth. I am already looking forward to 2008 – coaching and racing the Canada Cup series and a select few NOBRA’s and World Cups. My goal is to continue to share my passion for riding with communities, youth and women and fuel other people’s interest in biking as a lifestyle for healthy, active living.

Thanks Brodie for all of your support in 2007!

196.jpg

