TARA LLANES INJURY UPDATE – IN HER OWN WORDS

by

SOURCE: MYSPACE

tara-llanes-road-to-recovery.jpg

For those of you following the recovery status of Tara Llanes, here is her first update in her own words.
Please continue to support her by donating to the Tara Llanes Road to Recovery Fund

tara-wheelie.jpg

September 27, 2007
9:55 pm

Hey everyone…it’s me. So far both Missy and Polly have been updating what’s been going on here at Craig, but I had a few minutes before I head to bed so I figured it was my turn. Besides I’m not all hopped up on the meds anymore so I’m able to make a bit of sense. πŸ™‚

This morning started off a bit on the rough side. I had OT, which is Occupational Therapy scheduled from 8-9 am and knew getting up at 6:30 was going to be a tough one. I wouldn’t normally have to get up that early, but things take a bit longer when you have an injury like this.

So when I woke up I was already feeling a bit nauseous, but I thought it would go away. It sooo didn’t. Actually I have a little secret to tell so don’t let it get out. I know one of the doctors here and he’s been checking up on me about every other day. Well, he showed up at 7:00 am to bring me some coffee, which was a really nice thing to do. Too bad that ever since the accident I am hypersensative to certain smells. And one of them is coffee. As soon as I smell it I get nauseous. But when he brought me the coffee I didn’t have the heart to tell him how sick it made me. So I waited till’ he left to have my Mom dump it, but by that time the damage was done. I got in my chair and scooted my way to my OT session all the while not feeling so hot. As soon as I got there I knew things were gonna be rough. Sure enough within 20-30 min. I was asking for a bucket and was sent back to my room. I was sooo pissed!! I am sick and tired of being sick and tired dammnit! I want to get to OT and PT and kill it everyday. I want to push myself until I can’t go anymore. But if I keep getting sick I don’t accomplish a thing and that tears me up inside.

taraxray.jpg taraxray2.jpg

However I made things up later in the day. Before my next couple sessions I took a bit of a nap and started to feel better. I had a couple of visitors today. Well, actually Mikki Douglass who rode for Specialized back in the day showed up on Monday and will be here till’ Friday and it’s been great to see her. My other visitor was Matt Lanning. Some of you in the Mtn bike world would remember Matt as the editor of PLUSH magazine. It was the first all downhill / slalom magazine to ever come out. It was a sweet magazine and I’m not just saying that because it was my first cover ever! hehe.

So after my visitors I got up and was feeling quite a bit better and headed back over to the gym for some physical therapy. This time I was working out with the director of the gym Sharon. Right when I got there she asked me if I wanted to stand and of course I said, “Hell yeah!!” They have this sweet machine that they strap you into and you slowly use this lever to pump you up until you are standing. Man, once I got up the whole way and they rolled over this lifesize mirror right in front of me and I could see myself standing I tried not to lose it. I mean there I was…standing again!! I can’t wait to do it on my own. It just made me want to try even harder than I already was. After I hung out for awhile on that machine I got out of it and then Sharon asked if I wanted to try to learn how to wheelie and once again my answer was, “Hell yeah!” It took me two tries and I had it pretty much mastered. Although it does make you nervous because you just don’t know how far back you can go and it’s especially hard with all my braces I have to wear because it can make counter balancing a bit tough when you can’t move forward at all. I got it down though.

taragym.jpg taragym2.jpg tara-gym-3.jpg

After PT I headed down to the big gym for strength and conditioning class. Today we played a game that was kinda like basketball except the ball is about 10 times bigger than a basketball, you can pick up the ball and carry it on your lap if you can balance it, and you didn’t have to actually get it IN the hoop…just hit the backboard. Mikki played with us and tried to cheat every chance she would get. Her favorite move was flying head first out of her chair and have everyone feel sorry for her. Sorry Mik not gonna happen. My back was hurting about 10 min. into the game, but I was having so much fun that I played for the whole 45 minutes. And of course my team won.

After our game I stopped by Stephen Murray’s room to say hi. He was doing good today and his wife Melissa even told me that he moved one of his legs a bit today. I’m so jealous. Every night I lay in bed and close my eyes and concentrate so hard on like one of my toes or even my leg and sometimes I feel like it moves the slightest bit, but I’m not totally sure cuz’ it’s nighttime and nobody is there to see if I did! Note to self…try doing it in the freakin’ daytime so someone can be a witness! One of these days I’ll put my thinking cap on. πŸ™‚

stephenandtara.jpg
Stephen Murray (Pro BMX) and Tara Llanes

Anyway, listen it’s like 10:20 pm and I’m pretty tired. And I have OT again at 8 am so I better head to bed. I’ll be posting more pic’s tomorrow of me getting to lift weights in the weight room, standing up like a champ, doing some wheelies, and kicking Mikki’s butt at bounce ball. I look forward to tomorrow being another day closer to putting one foot in front of the other.

Oh and before I forget I need to thank my coach James for heading to Interbike over the last 3 days to be at the booth to help raise money for my foundation. He already has a bazziion things on his plate and he took the time to fly out there and spend time in the heat of boulder city for dirt demo and then two days indoors. Also, to my mom, Polly, and Bean for your continued help and lack of sleep. I love all of you. There is a huge list of people that I need to thank, but I want to make sure that I have everybody so I’ll wait on that one until I’ve got my ducks in a row. πŸ™‚

Peace and Wheelies!

tara

CLICK TO DONATE
tara-fundraiser-tshirt.jpg

One Response to “TARA LLANES INJURY UPDATE – IN HER OWN WORDS”

  1. Kristyn (Kemp) Duncan Says:

    Tara,
    Your attitude is unbelievable. May this be a smooth road to recovery for you. You’ll be in my prayers.

    Kristyn (BOHS)

Comments are closed.


